Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

Eighteen Business Faculty Earn Promotions

Largest Number of Promotions Reflects College's Growth
Eighteen Business Faculty Earn Promotions
A record-breaking 18 faculty members at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business earned promotions this year. The promotions recognize faculty's commitment to academia and their achievements in research, teaching and service at the college.

Eighteen faculty members at the College of Business earned promotions for the 2022-23 academic year. These promotions for University of Nebraska–Lincoln faculty go into effect August 1.

“This year we had the largest group of promotion and tenure cases in the college's history," said Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean and professor of finance. "This reflects the significant hiring we've done over the last six to seven years and the priority placed upon fostering faculty success."

The faculty members who have been promoted in academic rank or awarded tenure represent five academic departments. Four earned full professorships. Deb Cosgrove became the first in the college's history to be promoted to full professor of practice.

"Our strategic goals focus on encouraging impactful research, transformational learning through excellent teaching, and strong connections to stakeholders through service. We achieve these goals by promoting faculty members who excel in these areas," said Janet Near, associate dean of faculty and research, Howard L. Hawks Chair in Business Ethics and Leadership and professor of management.

The review process includes five levels of internal review from the academic department level to the university's Executive Vice Chancellor. According to Near, external reviewers also evaluate the national prominence of faculty based on research such as quality and quantity of publications; teaching including publishing textbooks and cases as well as teaching presentations; and service to the college, university and the profession through committee service, journal editorial boards and more.

"These educators and scholars are remarkable leaders on campus and in their fields," said Farrell. "Through their strong work ethic, commitment to transformational teaching and impactful research, our recently promoted faculty lead the future of business education."

Promoted faculty include:

Promoted to Full Professor from Associate Professor

Ozgur Araz

Özgür Araz, Supply Chain Management and Analytics

Tom Kubick

Tom Kubick, Accountancy

Emere Unlu

Emre Unlu, Finance


Promoted to Associate Professor and Granted Tenure

Dirk Black

Dirk Black, Accountancy

Graham Liu

Graham Liu, Actuarial Science

Troy Smith

Troy Smith, Management

Julie Wu

Julie Wu, Finance

Peter Zhu

Yunxia (Peter) Zhu, Supply Chain Management and Analytics


Promoted to Full Professor of Practice from Associate Professor of Practice

Deb Cosgrove

Debra Cosgrove, Accountancy


Promoted to Associate Professor of Practice from Assistant Professor of Practice

Jennifer Davidson

Jennifer Davidson, Economics

Samantha Fairclough

Samantha Fairclough, Management

Steven Hegemann

Steven Hegemann, Accountancy

Uchechukwu Jarrett

Uchechukwu Jarrett, Economics

Christopher Mann

Christopher Mann, Economics

Roberto Stein

Roberto Stein, Finance

Jill Trucke

Jill Trucke, Accountancy

Kevin Wesley

Kevin Wesley, Management

Read the Nebraska Today story on promotion and tenure

Published: May 3, 2022