February 7, 2012

Dean’s Presidents Council Created to Increase Student Opportunities

Dean Donde Plowman created a new Dean's Presidents Council to enhance the sense of community among students. The council, made up of presidents from each CBA student organization, is intended to increase opportunities for students to become active in the college. CBA currently has 17 student organizations and each were represented at the kickoff luncheon held in January. The presidents and their faculty advisors met with Plowman and other administrators to begin envisioning and planning for this new organization.

“The Dean’s Presidents Council offers student organization leaders the opportunity to collaborate more and share information. As a group, they can provide increased opportunities for our students to develop leadership skills and recruit more students for their organizations. The possibilities are endless,” Plowman said.

Representatives from each organization attended a student leadership development workshop, led by leadership consultant Michael Miller. The event was co-sponsored by UNL Student Involvement and CBA. Miller also consulted with individual CBA organizations.

“As the leader of the CBA Student Ambassador program, I look forward to working closely with the Dean and all the other business student organizations. Together we can provide current students with more resources and better services,” said Elaine Ji, a junior marketing major from Jiangsu, China.

Dean's Presidents Council

Photo cutline: Dean’s President Council (left to right) front row: Dean Donde Plowman, MBA Student Association Advisor Stephanie Osterthun, Sean Girvan, Anh Ha, Undergraduate Women in Business Advisor Donna Dudney, Kelsey Bridges, Richard Lock, Kady Shane and CBA Student Advisory Board Advisor D’vee Buss; second row: Alpha Kappa Psi Advisor Marc Schniederjans, Major Clay Livingston, Multicultural Business Student Association and Phi Beta Lambda Advisor Mark Davis, Elaine Ji, Marilyn Burech, Michaela Patt, Management Information System Club Advisor Keng Siau, Society for Human Resource Management Advisor Gwen Combs; third row: Ben Tiggelar, Students in Free Enterprise Advisor Sam Nelson, Brett Byman, John Glassman, Jeremy Mills, Jillaine Morrison, William Ross, American Marketing Association Advisor Amit Saini, Business Learning Community Advisor Bede Bolin and Tom Flynn; back row: CBA Student Advisory Board Advisor John Geppart, Actuarial Science Club Advisor Sue Vagts, Kyle Schnack and Beta Gamma Sigma and Delta Sigma Pi Advisor Carlos Asarta.