Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

Business Students Named Outstanding Leaders

Business Students Named Outstanding Leaders
Showing substantial leadership and involvement, two students from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business received the university’s 2018 Outstanding Student Leadership Awards. Elkhorn, Nebraska natives Jackson Grasz, a junior management major and Lauren Maciejewski, a junior finance major, accepted the awards presented by Dr. Laurie Bellows, interim vice chancellor for student affairs, during a ceremony at the Van Brunt Visitors Center on April 13. As part of the award, Grasz and Maciejewski each receive a full-tuition scholarship for the fall semester.

Grasz serves as the government liaison committee chair for the Association of Students of the University of Nebraska, president of the Interfraternity Council, an executive team member for the Big Event and co-chairs the Night of Listening Task Force. He is also a member of Farmhouse fraternity, the Nebraska Business Honors Academy and the Committee for Fee Allocations. He serves as a board member of the Cornhusker Council of Boy Scouts of America and volunteers as a reading tutor with City Impact. He is a Regents Scholarship recipient.

Maciejewski serves as the president of Gamma Phi Beta sorority, a senator in the Association of Students of the University of Nebraska, a peer mentor and ambassador in the Jeffrey S. Raikes School of Computer Science and Management, and a member of the College of Business Student Advisory Board. She has also been a staff member for the Big Event and Dance Marathon and has participated on the women's club soccer team. She is a Regents and Raikes Foundation scholarship recipient.

Coordinated by Student Affairs and selected through multiple committees, the Outstanding Student Leadership Award annually recognizes top students for exceptional leadership contributions at Nebraska and efforts to develop leadership qualities in fellow students. The award is one of the highest honors presented to students, recognizing outstanding leadership in academic, co-curricular and extracurricular activities and involvement.

In addition to Grasz and Maciejewski, four students were honored as finalists and 14 as semifinalists for the awards.

Other College of Business students, who finished as semifinalists, include:
Regan Burnham, junior management major from Fort Collins, Colorado
Chase Caverzagie, junior actuarial science major from Papillion, Nebraska
Annie Hua, senior finance and computer science major from Lincoln, Nebraska
Catherine Nyberg, senior finance major from Lincoln, Nebraska
Published: April 25, 2018