Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

Achievements for September 2023

Achievements for September 2023
College of Business faculty, students and staff continue to excel in fulfilling the college's mission to drive discovery, create opportunity and empower individuals to lead the future of business.

Learn more about recent honors, appointments and publications at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business in this month's achievements column. The achievements of faculty, staff and students are grouped within the college’s three mission-focused goals of research + discovery, learning + transformation and connection + engagement.

Research + Discovery

Accounting Team
Three accounting majors in the university's chapter of Beta Alpha Psi won second place in the world and are national champions in the Beta Alpha Psi International Best Practices Competition. Team members include (left to right): Alvan Tran, Morgan Wallinger and Blake Kokes.
  • Jennifer Davidson, associate professor of practice in economics, Nebraska Council on Economic Education president and Nebraska Bankers Association Faculty Fellow, offers tips in a WalletHub article for when college students could benefit from using a secured credit card. Read the article.
  • Uchechukwu Jarrett, Seacrest Teaching Fellow and associate professor of practice in economics, and Andrew Hanna, assistant professor of management and Seacrest Teaching Fellow, were named 2023 Seacrest Fellows by the Teaching and Learning Center. Fellows conduct research on evidence-based teaching strategies to improve the student experience. Read the article.
  • Eleven business instructors received one of three different teaching grants and will partner with the Teaching and Learning Center (TLC) to make meaningful changes to their classes. The TLC course innovation grant is awarded to instructors looking to make a significant change to their classrooms that will impact students' experience. Recipients include: Geoffrey Friesen, associate professor of finance; Amanda Gonzales, associate professor of practice in accountancy; Amber Messersmith, lecturer of management; Shane Moser, Nebraska Bankers Association Faculty Fellow and associate professor of practice in finance; and Silvana Trimi, associate professor of supply chain management and analytics. The TLC course review grant is provided to instructors who complete a developmental review process for one of their courses in partnership with an instructional designer. Recipients include: Amy Bartels, assistant professor of management; Kaitlin Ferris, assistant director of the Clifton Builders Program; Priyanka Khandelwal, assistant professor of practice in marketing; Jinsook Lee, assistant professor of practice in finance; and Alyson Lenz, assistant director of the Strengths Program. Additionally, Lindsay Thomsen, assistant professor of practice in management and director of business development for the Center for Entrepreneurship, received a grant for participating in the Center for Transformative Teaching Reflective Practitioner Program.

Learning + Transformation

  • Three accounting majors in the university's chapter of Beta Alpha Psi won second place in the world in Las Vegas for the Beta Alpha Psi International Best Practices Competition in the Reimagining Career Aspirations category. They placed first among all 253 active U.S. chapters, making them the national champions. Previously this year, the team won first place at the organization's mid-year meeting in Seattle. Team members include: Blake Kokes, accounting major from Grand Island, Nebraska; Alvan Tran, accounting and finance major from Lincoln, Nebraska; and Morgan Wallinger, accounting and agribusiness major from Stuart, Nebraska. For their project, they planned and implemented a panel discussion on various certifications available to accounting and finance graduates. Their advisor is Debra Cosgrove, professor of practice in accountancy.
  • The School of Accountancy at Nebraska recently received the IMA Endorsement of Higher Education from the Institute of Management Accountants for its management accounting curricula. The school's accounting programs meet educational standards enabling students to pursue the Certified Management Accountant (CMA) credential and careers in private and public accounting.
  • Nolan Johnson of Omaha, Nebraska, interned at the Washington International Trade Association after receiving the Steve Nelson Yeutter Institute International Trade Internship Award. The senior economics and political science major said the experience will help him stand out during his job search. Read the story here.
  • Rose Hull was promoted to associate director of the College of Business Teaching & Learning Center, where she assists with several student-support programs and development opportunities including the free tutoring and Inclusive Business Leaders programs.
  • Two business students were among the 21 students named Scholars Program Recipients by PGA Reach, the charitable foundation of the PGA of America. Business administration major Atirath Roy from Uttar Pradesh, India; and business minor Rachael Volin of Lincoln, each receive $8,000 scholarships as they work toward PGA Membership through one of the 18 accredited PGA Golf Management University Programs across the nation. Read the Golf Wire article.
Madelyn Kolar
Management major Madelyn Kolar received a Dean's Coin for going above and beyond in her internship helping organize college recruitment events.

Connection + Engagement

  • Scott Fuess, Jr., University of Nebraska Faculty Athletics Representative, Steinhart Foundation Distinguished Professor of Business, Research Fellow Institute for the Study of Labor (IZA) Bonn, Germany and Professor of Economics, was named to a five-year term on the NCAA Division I Committee on Academics. The committee supports the association’s academic mission through the management of Division I academics matters, including policy, eligibility standards and the NCAA Division I Academic Performance Program. The Committee on Academics is chaired by a Division I president and also consists of university presidents, a provost, faculty athletics representatives, directors of athletics, senior woman administrators, conference administrators and a student-athlete. 
  • Madelyn Kolar, management major from Omaha, received a Dean's Coin from Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean and professor of finance, for going above and beyond in her recruitment internship for the College of Business Enrollment Management team. Her nominator Kendra Ritchie, director of recruitment, said Kolar helped lead planning the college's largest ever Admitted Student Day recruitment reception this spring and helped plan and coordinate the DREAMBIG Academy, a summer program for high school students.
  • Laura McLeod, assistant professor of practice in marketing, received the American Marketing Association Lincoln chapter's Golden Thumb Award in August. The organization says her unwavering dedication and 'thumbs-up' worthy efforts as one of its board members set the bar high.
  • Eduardo Sicilia, management major from Cancun, Mexico, discussed how he engaged Nebraska's entrepreneurship ecosystem as a student in the panel titled "Increase the Innovation Entrepreneurship Pipeline" at Nebraska's Ag and Economic Development Summit.

This column is a monthly feature of the College of Business. Faculty, staff and students can submit achievements to be considered for this column via the News Proposal Form at the bottom of webpage. On the form, select Recognize Achievement and fill out the related questions.


Published: September 8, 2023