Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

College of Business Promotes Nine Faculty

Advancements Highlight Shared Commitment to Research, Teaching and Service
College of Business Promotes Nine Faculty
Nine faculty members at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business earned promotions this year.

Nine faculty members at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business earned promotions for the 2023-24 academic year. Effective in August, the promotions recognize the faculty's commitment to academia and their achievements in research, teaching and service at the college.          

"These nine educators and scholars are remarkable leaders in their departments, on campus and in their fields," said Farrell. "Through their strong work ethic, commitment to transformational teaching and impactful research, our recently promoted faculty lead the future of business education," said Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean and professor of finance.

The review process includes five levels of internal review from the academic department level to the university's Executive Vice Chancellor. According to Near, external reviewers also evaluate the national prominence of faculty based on research such as quality and quantity of publications; teaching, including publishing textbooks and cases as well as teaching presentations; and service to the college, university and the profession through committee service, journal editorial boards and more.

"Our strategic goals focus on encouraging impactful research, transformational learning through excellent teaching, and strong connections to stakeholders through service. We achieve these goals by promoting faculty members who excel in these areas," said Janet Near, associate dean of faculty and research, Howard L. Hawks Chair in Business Ethics and Leadership and professor of management.

Promoted faculty include:

Promoted to Associate Professor and Granted Tenure

Baugh Brian Baugh
Thornhock Todd Thornock
Wang Liying Wang
Wu Biyu Wu
Zhuang Shengchao Zhuang
Actuarial Science

Promoted to Full Professor from Associate Professor

Alok Alok Kumar

Promoted to Associate Professor of Practice from Assistant Professor of Practice

Shane Moser Shane Moser


Read the Nebraska Today story on promotion and tenure.


Published: August 24, 2023