Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

From Grit to Glory: Nebraska Business Grads Celebrated

From Grit to Glory: Nebraska Business Grads Celebrated
More than 125 business students received degrees following the 2019 summer semester.
More than 125 business students receive their glory at commencement ceremonies this weekend after years of showing their academic grit at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln College of Business. The August 17 ceremony features a commencement address by Susan Fritz, who became interim president of the University of Nebraska on August 15.

Business students expressed gratitude for their new status as Husker alumni. Gerardo Soto, a management major from Columbus, Nebraska, believes the education he received allows him to go forward and make an impact in the community.

“The best thing about being a Husker is being part of an amazing community willing to help each other grow and push beyond personal boundaries,” said Soto, who plans on working in the pharmaceutical sales industry after graduation. “Being a Husker is an enriching experience that will develop you beyond your expectations. I am looking forward to working in a career I am passionate about, meeting new people from completely different areas, and having the independence to develop and use the skills I have learned to plan for the future.”

Argha Sen, who is receiving his doctorate in business with a specialization in marketing, found Nebraska to be a wonderful place to study and live with his wife and daughter after coming to the United States from India. He singled out his advisor, Dr. Alok Kumar, as a major influence in his success.

“Dr. Kumar has taught me new tools, new literature and improvements in writing and teaching. He has been a wonderful mentor. From the day I landed here, it’s been a fabulous experience working with faculty and fellow Ph.D. students in the Department of Marketing. My interests in business-to-business marketing, marketing channels and sales research are all strong areas for the faculty I worked with every day,” said Sen, who accepted a faculty position at Salisbury University in Maryland.

To view commencement online, a video stream begins one half-hour before the 9 a.m. ceremony here:

List of College of Business graduates:


Argha Sen, Calcutta, India; Business—Dissertation: How Platform Firms Cultivate a Buyer Pool in Two-Sided Business to Business (B2B) Electronic Markets: Platform Actions, Processes, and Boundary Conditions. Advised by Professor Alok Kumar.

Master of Business Administration
Stephen Sven Anderson, Indianapolis, IN—Business
Anne Burback, Casper, WY—Business
Erik Gunnar Burgin, Minot, ND—Business
Larry J. Coers, Bellevue, KY—Business
Mark Coker, Federal Way, WA—Business
Christopher Stacy Driggs, Colorado Springs, CO—Business
Augustus Jordan Gagis, Del Rio, TX—Business
Cody Alexander Goggin, Wildwood, MO—Business
Summer Leigh Horowitz, Briarcliff Manor, NY—Business
Emira Ibrahimpasic, Lincoln—Business
Jessica Lynn Kuczmarski, Buffalo, NY—Business
Christopher Paul Mayer, Skokie, IL—Business
Eric Scott Meahan, Wentzville, MO—Business
Kyle David Oakeson, Hastings—Business
Derek Michael Oster, Kansas City, MO—Business
Benjamin Garrett Potter, Lincoln—Business
Adam Pruess, Omaha—Business
Evan Michael Roberts, Omaha—Business
Bradley Todd Senecal, Lincoln—Business
Danielle Faye Smith, Nashville, TN—Business
Adam Michael Steele, Palm Harbor, FL—Business
Dylan Woodbury Stott, Rupert, ID—Business
Daniel Joseph Suderow, Bremerton, WA—Business
Evan Stanhope Tilton, Rapid City, SD—Business
Aaron Wengert, Queen Creek, AZ—Business
Marco Antonio Zamora, El Paso, TX—Business
Master of Professional Accountancy
Eric Alan Neemann, Lincoln—Accountancy
Dodge Douglas Ostrander, Lincoln—Accountancy
Jennifer Rivera, Omaha—Accountancy
Calder James Rosdail, Sidney—Accountancy
Benjamin James Smith, Omaha—Accountancy
Bachelor of Science
in Business Administration

Taha Husam Moosa Al Lawati, Ruwi, Oman
Jace Alexander Bausch, Lincoln
Alexander Joseph Beiermann, Columbus
                        (With Distinction)
McKenzie Anne Voss Brown, Fremont
Kelsea Valentine Brunner, Lincoln
Matthew Steven Butler, Omaha
Zikang Cao, Jingzhou City, China
                        (With Distinction)
Branden Joseph Carpenter, Lincoln
Xingyao Chen, Lincoln
Aimee Jenée Christensen, Alma
Lewis Scott Cobb, Omaha
Madison Rene Dangerfield, Grand Forks, ND
Conor Matthew Deterding, Plymouth, MN
Qianyu Dong, Luoyang, China
                        (With High Distinction)
Nicholas Lukas Dosskey, Lincoln
Cade August Duvel, Max
Thomas John Engelkamp, Bellevue
Chutian Feng, Lincoln
Fei Feng, Lincoln
Francesca Edith Giganti, Chesterfield, MO
Nicole Lee Graham, Lincoln
Jace Andrew Guthmiller, Yankton, SD
Lauren Nichole Hanson, Victoria, MN
Lingyi Hao, Lincoln
Armando Haro, Lincoln
Hudson Oscar Heiss, Omaha
Spencer Shay Herman, Fullerton
Gabriel Harold Hubbard, Elm Creek
Tyler Wayne Johnson, Omaha
Samantha Renee Karr, Hastings
                        (With High Distinction)
Blair Marie Kellner, Omaha
Emily Kathryn Klima, Lincoln
Zachary John Kohut, Grosse Pointe, MI
Alex John Kramer, Council Bluffs, IA
Carter James Langpaul, Bellevue
Benjamin Steven Lapke, Lincoln
                        (With Highest Distinction)
Chenshang Li, Suzhou, China
Mingxuan Li, Xi’an, China
Wenqian Linghu, Lincoln
Zhuo Liu, Lincoln
Halleen Grace Lockhart, Arvada, CO
Ying Luo, Lincoln
Daprese Tyron Madlock, Lincoln
Tristen Bailey Metcalf, Lincoln
Zachery Alan Mitchell, Columbus
Dafina Aina Mohamed Mazlan, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
                        (With Distinction)
Sky Stalene Morgan, Winnebago
Thomas John Mulgrue, Jr., Lincoln
Alex Nachreiner, Omaha
                            (University Honors Program)
    (Nebraska Business Honors Academy)
David Nguyen, Lincoln
Truc Thanh Nguyen, Lincoln
Neely Denae Nuss, Lincoln
Bailey Celeste O’Connor, Lincoln
Dillon Scott O’Flaherty, Arlington
John Peter O’Neill, Lincoln
Austen Richard Ortmeier, Omaha
Meena Pannirselvam, Lincoln
Taylor Nicole Pavich, Silver Creek
Spencer Reid Petersen, Papillion
Kyle Edward Petsche, Omaha
Holly Pham, Lincoln
Connor Douglas Pick, Omaha
Zachary Raul Picker, Sierra Madre, CA
Ziyu Qu, Lincoln
Ashley Dawn Richters, Aurora
Timothy Daniel Russell, Sussex, WI
Michael James Sandvold, Blair
Dalton James Schnase, Lincoln
Paul Randall Semin, Omaha
Bolin Shi, Huhzou, China
Trevon Michael Snell, Lincoln
Sean Joon Song, Omaha
Gerardo J. Soto, Columbus
Carter Trelstad Stoehr, Woodbury, MN
Landon Christopher Swann, Lincoln
Alesiya Tadysheva, Lincoln
Cindy Tan, Butterworth, Malaysia
Stephanie Tang, Naperville, IL
Xinmeng Tang, Wuhan, China
Yulin Tang, Hangzhou, China
                        (With Highest Distinction)
Jin Wei Tee, Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Kila Dorene Timm, Roseland
Drey Urbanovsky, Roca
Cole Thomas VanderWoude, Sioux Falls, SD
Lian Wang, Jiangyin, China
Lauren Marie Wilkinson, Lincoln
Corey Elijah Williams, Lincoln
Riley Robert Williams, Lincoln
Conner RonaldRobert Wilson, Bloomfield
Haoxuan Wu, Shuozhou, China
Shangwen Yan, Lincoln
Alexis Ann Yenney, Niota, IL
Jiaqi Yuan, Chengdu, China
Mi Zhou, Lincoln
Wenxin Zhu, Hangzhou, China
Published: August 16, 2019