Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

High-Achieving Students Selected as CBA Honors Academy Class of 2020

Forty-three recent high school graduates have been selected to join the College of Business Administration Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. This group of incoming freshmen are high-achieving students with an average ACT score of more than 31 and who have demonstrated leadership potential through involvement in school and community activities. This will be the fourth cohort of the CBA Honors Academy since its inception in 2013.
“The quality of students enrolled in the CBA Honors Academy and the number of outstanding applicants we are attracting nationwide demonstrates the college’s growing national stature,” said Dr. Donde Plowman, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of CBA. “To be selected as a member of this cohort is a testament to their scholastic achievement, exceptional leadership and communication skills, and their desire to become leaders in the business world.”
CBA Honors Academy students at Innovation Campus
CBA Honors Academy students at Innovation Campus
The cohort includes students from seven states, including all areas of Nebraska, who plan to study in nine majors within CBA. They will complete most of their foundation and core business courses together using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, technical and communication skills.
The new students will participate in leadership activities to build their skills and participate in student competitions. Additionally, they participate in internships and study abroad experiences to learn valuable lessons that prepare them to make an impact in the business world after graduation. This summer, 22 current academy students are studying abroad in 12 countries and 40 percent of the academy’s students are participating in paid internships across the U.S. and abroad. Current students are also heavily engaged in philanthropy within the Lincoln community, where they have worked with more than 70 local agencies and volunteered more than 1400 hours within the last academic year.
“We’re all very excited to welcome the fall 2016 cohort to the academy. They bring a wealth of diverse experiences and unique personal goals coupled with incredibly impressive scholastic and community achievements that will immediately make an impact on the culture of the academy, CBA and the UNL campus as a whole,” said Erin Burnette, director of the academy. “Our staff is eager to help this cohort realize their potential as they grow and continue to achieve great things over the next four years.”

The following students will join the fall 2016 cohort of the CBA Honors Academy (the student's high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown):

Alliance: Anthony Hare, finance
Bellevue: Callie Pancoe, management (Bellevue West)
Chadron: Shoilee Rahman, business administration
Eagle: Trevor Lockard, business administration (Lincoln Christian)
Fort Calhoun: Bret Klabunde, business administration
Gering: Megan Copsey, business administration
Grand Island: Jairo Gamboa Urrego, economics
Hartington: Carly Becker, business administration (Cedar Catholic)
Hastings: Brady Conant, supply chain management (Adams Central)
Hordville: Joshua DeMers, actuarial science (High Plains)
Kenesaw: Rose Wehrman, marketing 
Lincoln: Austin Moody, finance (Lincoln Southwest); Frances Munro, actuarial science (Lincoln Southwest); David Petersen, business administration (Lincoln Southwest); Reagan Scott, international business (Pius X)
Nebraska City: Maya Mercer, marketing
Omaha: Raymond Anderson, business administration (Millard West), Cassandra Arritt, business administration (Westside), Kenneth Erickson, actuarial science (Westside), Ross Grieb, economics (Elkhorn South), Leigh Hanson, accounting (Millard North), Krystal Kozawa Lopez, international business (Central), Vincent Malene, actuarial science (Millard South), Sarah Schilling, business administration (Millard North), Conrad Shiu, finance (Skutt Catholic), Mason Smalley, actuarial science (Elkhorn South)
Osmond: Caleb Krohn, accounting
Palmyra: Benjamin Kirchner, actuarial science (Lincoln East)
Seward: Grant Biggs, finance


Crystal Lake, Illinois: Rebekah Otten, economics (Crystal Lake South)
Eagan, Minnesota: Demi van Reeuwijk, business administration (Eastview)
Elmhurst, Illinois: Maggie Schlecht, actuarial science (York Community)
Lee’s Summit, Missouri: Elaina Bailey, international business (Saint Teresa’s Academy)
Lenexa, Kansas: Nicholas Senior, actuarial science (Shawnee Mission Northwest)
Naperville, Illinois: Colleen Doyle, management (Naperville North)
New Berlin, Wisconsin: Andrew Spadaro, actuarial science (Eisenhower)
Olathe, Kansas: Kevin Woolworth, management (Blue Valley Southwest)
Rushmore, Minnesota: Erika Schutte, marketing (Worthington)
Savage, Minnesota: Adam Bastian, finance (Saint Croix Lutheran)
Stillwater, Oklahoma: Megan McCann, actuarial science
Wichita, Kansas: Kristen Jones, accounting (Maize South); Jack Nibert, finance (Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic) 
Published: June 1, 2016