Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

Forty-Five Students Selected for Nebraska Business Honors Academy

Forty-Five Students Selected for Nebraska Business Honors Academy
Forty-five high-achieving students selected for the Nebraska Business Honors Academy will start college at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall.

Forty-five incoming first-year students have been selected to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. This group will be the eighth cohort to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy since its founding in 2013. 

"Those selected went through a rigorous application process and were selected based on their scholastic achievement, exceptional leadership and communication skills," said Dr. Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business. "We are thrilled to welcome them to Nebraska and are committed to preparing them to lead the future of business."

The cohort includes students from 11 states, including 23 students from across Nebraska, who plan to study in 10 academic majors within the College of Business. They will complete most of their core and foundation business curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, and technical and communication skills.

“This group brings unique perspectives from across the country with a focus on using their strengths to build relationships and solve problems in various communities. I have no doubt they will quickly find ways to positively impact the academy, College of Business and university as a whole,” said Erin Burnette, academy director. “Our staff is eager to help this cohort learn, grow and realize their potential as they progress through their college career.”

Academy students participate in leadership activities and compete in local and national student competitions to enhance their professional communication. Additionally, they partake in internships and study abroad experiences to learn valuable lessons and prepare them to make an impact in the business world after graduation. Academy students are involved in more than 120 student organizations at the university and serve in a variety of prominent leadership roles. Academy alumni have taken their talents to careers and graduate schools spanning 20 states.

Applications for the 2021 cohort are accepted through Dec. 10. To learn more about the academy, visit

The following students will join the fall 2020 cohort of the Nebraska Business Honors Academy (the student's high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown):

Aurora: Ryan Marlatt, actuarial science
Beatrice: Whitney Schwisow, actuarial science
Columbus: Alexis Jeffryes, economics; Sam Nelson, actuarial science
Hastings: Drake Vorderstrasse, economics (Adams Central); Carter Wenburg, agribusiness
Kearney: Molly Mitchell, business administration
Lincoln: Olivia Nelson, management (Pius X); Alex Nydahl, marketing (Lincoln Southeast); TJ Taylor, economics (Lincoln East); Delani Young, international business (Lincoln High)
North Platte: Sarah Phares, business administration
Omaha: Ethan Domsch, supply chain management (Concordia); Olivia Eno, accounting (Millard North); Pyper Haarala, actuarial science (Elkhorn South); Summer Liu, actuarial science (Millard West); Reese Munson, finance (Millard West); Aaryan Naik, finance (Millard West); Naren Narasimhan, marketing (Millard North); Niheala Ponnatha, finance (Millard North)
Tecumseh: Eli Waring, business administration (Johnson County Central)
Wallace: Sydney Pelster, business administration
Wayne: Trevor DeBoer, finance

Windsor, Colorado: Peyton Shewmon, management
Bartlett, Illinois: Haley Szymczak, accounting (South Elgin)
Batavia, Illinois: Kate Schoenfelder, accounting
Saint Charles, Illinois: Brenna Paul, accounting (Saint Charles East)
Olathe, Kansas: Abbey Marshall, actuarial science (Olathe West); Nolan Mauk, economics (Saint Thomas Aquinas); Tessa Mozingo, marketing (Olathe North)
Overland Park, Kansas: James Eshleman, business administration (Blue Valley North); Connor Morrissey, finance (Saint Thomas Aquinas)
Stillwell, Kansas: Colby Marsden, actuarial science (Blue Valley)
Eden Prairie, Minnesota: Adam Beer, actuarial science (Holy Family Catholic); Katy Kraemer, international business
Willmar, Minnesota: Abigail Mathiasen, finance
Lake Winnebago, Missouri: Sophie Brendel, accounting (Lees Summit West)
Liberty, Missouri: Jackson Krop, actuarial science (Liberty North)
Pleasant Hill, Missouri: Cole Swofford, actuarial science
Grand Forks, North Dakota: Taylor Durbin, management (Red River)
Delaware, Ohio: Rebecca Koppelman, actuarial science (Olentangy Berlin)
Norman, Oklahoma: Karsten Hutcheson, actuarial science (Lindsay)
Brookings, South Dakota: Tori Diersen, economics
Madison, South Dakota: Mason Avery, actuarial science
McKinney, Texas: Carlos Fuentes, actuarial science (McKinney Boyd)


Published: June 4, 2020