Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

Forty-five Students Chosen for Nebraska Business Honors Academy

Forty-five Students Chosen for Nebraska Business Honors Academy
Forty-five students selected for the Nebraska Business Honors Academy will start college this fall.
Forty-five recent high school graduates have been selected to join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. This will be the seventh group to join the academy since its founding in 2013.

"The continuous increase in the number of excellent applicants who apply to the Honors Academy each year speaks to its quality," said Dr. Kathy Farrell, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Endowed Dean of the College of Business. "Those selected went through a rigorous application process and were selected based on their scholastic achievement, exceptional leadership and communication skills, and desire to become future leaders in business.”
The cohort includes students from 11 states, including all areas of Nebraska, who plan to study in nine academic majors within the College of Business. They will complete most of their core and foundation business curriculum together using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, and technical and communication skills.
2019 cohort students enrolled in classes at New Student Enrollment.
2019 cohort students enrolled in classes at New Student Enrollment.
"This group brings a unique set of skills and achievements coupled with the desire to challenge themselves and find ways to positively impact the academy, the College of Business and the university as a whole," said Erin Burnette, academy director. "Our staff is eager to help this cohort learn, grow and realize their potential as they progress through their college career."
Academy students participate in leadership activities, competitions, internships and global immersion experiences. Students receive a $2,500 scholarship to study abroad, and current academy students are studying abroad in six countries this summer. Additionally, 40 percent of academy students are participating in paid internships in eight states.
On campus, academy students are involved in more than 120 student organizations and serve in a variety of prominent leadership roles. The academy's third cohort graduated in May, and these alumni will take their talents to careers and graduate schools spanning 19 states.

Applications for the 2020 cohort are accepted through Nov. 2. To learn more about the Nebraska Business Honors Academy, visit

The following students will join the Nebraska Business Honors Academy in fall 2019. The student’s high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown.


Bellevue: Ellie Foral, economics (Bellevue East); Madeleine Grimm, actuarial science (Bellevue West); Quiana Logans, business administration (Bellevue East)
Eagle: Trent Lockard, finance (Lincoln Christian)
Elkhorn: Hannah Headley, business administration
Hallam: Hannah Rethmeier, accounting (Crete)
Hartington: Willa Scoville, business administration (Hartington Newcastle)
Kearney: Kollin Goff, management
Lincoln: Grant Gubbels, finance (Pius X); Chris Payant, business administration (Lincoln Southeast); Avery Smith, marketing (Lincoln High)
Omaha: Maria Alessandro, international business (Marian); Brandon Collins, business administration (Millard North); Logan Connealy, business administration (Elkhorn South); Joel Myers, economics (Homeschool); Ryan Nyffeler, business administration (Millard West); Lucy Peterkin, international business (Millard North); Meghan Schuette, international business (Millard West); Jacob Zadalis, business administration (Creighton Prep)
Osmond: Anthony Heiman, management


Highlands Ranch, Colorado: Parker Mowery, actuarial science (Stem School)
Monroe, Connecticut: Sam Gertner, accounting (Masuk)
Wilmington, Delaware: Julia Michener, actuarial science (Mount Pleasant)
Ankeny, Iowa: Zach Buhman, actuarial science (Ankeny Centennial); Jason Dirks, actuarial science (Ankeny Centennial)
Hull, Iowa: Audrey Kreun, business administration (Boyden-Hull)
Sioux City, Iowa: Hailey Hoogers, actuarial science (North)
Bloomington, Illinois: Alex Zlatic, actuarial science (Central Catholic)
Bourbonnais, Illinois: Connor Boudreau, actuarial science (Bradley Bourbonnais Community)
Forsyth, Illinois: Bailey Birkholtz, actuarial science (Maroa Forsyth)
Plainfield, Illinois: Patrick Malec, finance (Benet Academy)
Clay Center, Kansas: Charlotte Straley, actuarial science (Jefferson West)
Kansas City, Kansas: Abbie Grimm, accounting (Piper)
Leawood, Kansas: Ellie Anderson, marketing (Blue Valley North); Benjamin Hunnicutt, finance (Blue Valley North)
Lenexa, Kansas: Andrea Curnes, business administration (Saint James Academy)
Shawnee, Kansas: Andrew Shank, actuarial science (Mill Valley)
Sterling, Kansas: William Weiner, actuarial science
Prior Lake, Minnesota: Amanda Fuechtmann, supply chain management
Chesterfield, Missouri: Sophie Saxon, marketing (Marquette)
Kansas City, Missouri: Maddie Bechtel, business administration (Park Hill); Rhianna Jones, finance (Saint Teresas Academy)
Liberty, Missouri: Harrison Gates, actuarial science (Liberty North)
Colleyville, Texas: Kendall Munoz, international business (Homeschool)
Burke, Virginia: Michaela Webb, economics (Lake Braddock)
Published: June 12, 2019