Skip to main content
University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Full Article

Visit Apply Give

39 High-Achieving Students Selected as CBA Honors Academy Class of 2018

Thirty-nine freshmen have been selected to be part of the College of Business Administration Honors Academy at the University of Nebraska–Lincoln this fall. After a successful inaugural year of the program, the CBA Honors Academy had a nearly 20 percent increase in applications this year from 18 states and two countries.

Dr. Donde Plowman, James Jr. and Susan Stuart Dean of the College of Business Administration, said, “We are encouraged by the increase in the number of quality applicants who applied for the Honors Academy. Those selected went through a rigorous application process, and were ultimately selected based on their overall scholastic achievement, exceptional leadership experience, communication skills, and the way they demonstrated becoming a leader in the business world.”

Honors Academy Students

Honors Academy students enjoy Lincoln's Haymarket Railyard

The 2014 Academy class are from eight states and will major in seven majors at CBA. They will complete most of their foundation and core business courses together as a cohort using an action-based learning style focused on the development of critical thinking, technical and communication skills.

The new students will participate in leadership activities to build their skills and participate in student competitions. Last year’s competitors received the McGivern, Inc. Award for Team Communication in the Leadership Challenge Event (LCE), at Washburn University in Topeka, Kan. Academy students will benefit from connecting and working with corporate partners from around the country. Additionally, they receive internships and study abroad experiences to learn valuable lessons and prepare them to make an impact in the business world after graduation.

“We’re all very excited to welcome the fall 2014 cohort to the Academy. Their scholastic achievements are very impressive and their overall enthusiasm for maximizing their college experience will make them tremendous assets to the program. I look forward to helping them achieve great things over the next four years,” said Erin Burnette, assistant director of the Academy.

The following students will join the fall 2014 cohort of the CBA Honors Academy (the student's high school is included in parentheses if it differs from the hometown):


Arapahoe: Sydney Henry, actuarial science
Beatrice: Hunter Zarybnicky, actuarial science
Carleton: Jennifer Mick, accounting (Shickley)
Creston: Allison Olmer, international business (Leigh Community School)
Elkhorn: Alan Davis, finance (Millard North)
Emerson: Jacob Sebade, actuarial science (Pender)
Grand Island: Angelica Carlini, marketing (Grand Island Northwest); Erik Raber, economics (Grand Island Senior High)
Hickman: Michael Siefert, actuarial science (Norris)
Kearney: Keona Koster, business administration
Kenesaw: Trevor Burr, accounting
Lincoln: Eastin Allgood, economics (Lincoln Southeast); Katie Curtiss, business administration (Lincoln East); Greg Dittman, accounting (Lincoln East); Caleb Dostal, finance (Malcolm); Caitlin Wendel, actuarial science (Lincoln Southwest)
Nebraska City: Aaron Miller, business administration (Lourdes Central)
Newman Grove: Megan Nelson, marketing
Norris: Nolan Graham, business administration
Ogallala: Phoebe Lockhart, international business
Omaha: Olivia Bond, business administration (Millard South); Zach Geist, business administration (Millard North); Jack Glover, business administration (Bellevue West); James Glover, economics (Millard South); Morgan Rademacher, accounting (Millard West); Thomas Trueblood, Jr., economics (Elkhorn South); Scott Ward, actuarial science (Burke); Joseph Zach, accounting (Skutt Catholic)
Wayne: Angela Nelson, business administration

Groton, S.D.: Camille Sippel, business administration
Leawood, Kan.: Allison Fehnel, actuarial science (Blue Valley North)
Lee’s Summit, Mo.: Kathleen Daniels, actuarial science (St. Teresa’s Academy)
Littleton, Colo.: Trent Sears, actuarial science (Heritage)
Lyndhurst, Ohio: Gabrielle Williams, accounting (Charles F. Brush)
Naperville, Ill.: Wyatt States, accounting (Neuqua Valley)
Normal, Ill.: David Krueger, business administration (Normal Community West)
Richland, Wash.: Sophie Podhaisky, marketing
South Elgin, Ill.: Katlyn LaCroix, actuarial science (St. Charles North)
Streamwood, Ill.: Meghan Morris, business administration
Published: July 7, 2014